How to remove third-party apps from your Google Account

It is not a mystery that by consenting google sign-in method, and you allow the website or application to automatically access your personal and sensitive information. This has been done so that they can create a profile for the service, and we believe that websites will not abuse it, but it might interest you to know that you can eventually remove third-party apps access from your Google Account very easily.

Remove third-party apps access from your Google Account on the desktop

How to Remove third-party apps access
  1. Go to your Google Account.
  2. On the left navigation panel, select Security.
  3. On the Thirdparty apps with account access panel, select Manage thirdparty access.
  4. Select the site or app you want to remove.
  5. Select Remove Access.

First, if you haven’t already logged in to your Google Account, log in and visit myaccount.google.com.  You’ll see a few different options on the page including personal information, Data & personalization, security, people & sharing, as well as, Payment & subscriptions.

How to Remove third-party apps access from Google account

Click Security/Protection from the list of top options.

Scroll down to search the third-party applications section with account access.  It states that ‘you have given access to some of your Google Account data, including information that may be sensitive to these sites and applications, and even Google may ask you to remove access to services that you no longer trust or use.

Now, you will have two separate lists;  Third-party applications, including Google sign-in with access to accounts.  You can read about the potential risks here.

Now, to remove a service, just click the name of the service and click ‘Remove Access’.  That is, your data and services will no longer be accessible.  Repeat the process for all sites and applications you want to delete from your account.

You will receive a warning when you click the Delete Access button, which is very important because if you deny access to an application that you use regularly, the related data will also be removed and you will have to give them access again to use the service again.

How to remove third-party apps from your Google Account on smartphones

As we did on a computer, you can revoke access to apps and sites in your account using your smartphone.

  • Open the Google App on your smartphone and log in with your Google Account.  After logging in, tap the avatar in the upper right corner.
  • Tap ‘Manage your Google Account’; it will open the settings in a new application.  You can make the same changes here as we did on the desktop.
  • Scroll the tab horizontally at the top and select ‘Security’ from the list of options.
  • Now, scroll vertically to find the ‘Third-Party Apps with Account Access’ section.  Tap ‘Manage third party access’ to publish a list of applications associated with your Google Account.
  • Tap a service to release the ‘Remove Access’ button next to it.
  • You will receive an alert that warns you that data related to the application will be deleted and you will need to log in again to allow the app to access your account.
  • Tap OK, and the service will be permanently deleted.  If you do not have access to it, then again.

What happens when you revoke third-party apps from your Google Account

In some cases, like the initial data permissions, you are simply logged out of an application or game and will need to give permission again if you want to use it again. You can always grant permission for the application you have revoked in the future. Most of the data will be synced with Google and you will not lose data in any way.

You may have to rebuild task lists, or you may lose the PDF you saved to Google Drive using the application, but if you withdraw an application and decide to revoke permission at a later date, it should be no longer a process.

Bottom Line

This way, you can delete all applications related to your Google Account.  Not all applications want to steal and damage your data, however, it is recommended you read through the terms and conditions before granting access to any site or apps on your Google account. Alternatively, you can create a burner account without any login information.

Recent Articles

Related Posts

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here