WhatsApp warns that the “WhatsApp view once media” feature should only be used with trusted friends and family members because this feature is not void of loopholes
The WhatsApp view once media isn’t a new feature in the online social media space because the feature has been available to users on Snapchat and Instagram. In today’s guide, I’ll teach what you need to know about the WhatsApp View Once media and how to activate and Send it. Th view once feature is similar to the disappearing message feature it rolled out earlier this year. They both give users some form of control over their privacy.
What is the WhatsApp view once media?
The WhatsApp view once media feature is a new feature that was launched on the 30th of July, which allows media (pictures & videos) that has been sent to only be viewed once before expiring. What this means is that once the target viewer has finished looking at the picture or watching the video, they can no longer have access to the media again.
This is a really great feature for people who would like to send embarrassing photos of themselves when they were younger without letting their friends have a copy of the photo (media) and in many other similar scenarios.
WhatsApp warns that the “WhatsApp view once media” feature should only be used with trusted friends and family members because this feature is not void of loopholes. And just like in other social media applications where this feature is being used, just like Snapchat and Instagram, the recipient can easily take a screenshot of the photo to retain the information on it or for videos turn on screen recording before opening the video to also retain the information contained within the video.
Even though the actual media will be deleted from the recipient’s device storage they’ll still be able to have a copy of it.
Before I teach you how to activate and use the WhatsApp view once media, there are some basic things you should know about the feature before using it. Continue reading to find out more about the WhatsApp View once media.
Things You Should Know About the WhatsApp View Once Media
- When you use the WhatsApp view once media feature, the recipient cannot retain the media on their device’s storage after viewing it.
- You will also not be able to view the media again on WhatsApp after sending it to the recipient.
- The recipient will not be able to forward, share, star, or even save the media.
- You will only be able to see if the recipient has viewed the media if their read receipt is turned on.
- If the recipient doesn’t open the media within a period of 2 (14 days) from the time the media was sent, the media will automatically expire (self-destruct) and can no longer be opened.
- You can only use this feature when you select the view once photo or video before sending your media (photo or video) as WhatsApp does not automatically select this feature when sending media.
- If the view once media (photo or video) has not been opened at the time of backup, then the media can be restored and viewed otherwise, the media will not be restored.
- Encrypted media will be stored on WhatsApp’s servers before it is permanently removed.
- If the media’s view is reported once media is sent to the recipient, that media will be provided to WhatsApp. If you are still not clear about how this works, you can gain further insight here.
The moment you have been waiting for is finally here. I’ll be teaching you how to activate and send the WhatsApp view once media using a step-by-step process.
How to Use the WhatsApp View Once Media
To learn how to use the new WhatsApp view once media feature on your device, follow the settings of instructions outlined below:
- Download WhatsApp from Play Store or Apple Store if the application is not already installed on your device.
Read Also: How to make group calls on WhatsApp.
- After installation, follow the instructions you’ll find on the screen to register your number on WhatsApp. Skip this step if you already have an account on WhatsApp.
- Locate and open targeted individual or group chat
- Tap on the Camera icon found at the bottom of your screen to take a picture or video.
- Alternatively, you can tap on the attachment icon found at the bottom left corner of your screen, and afterward, you can either tap on Camera to take a picture or video or tap on Gallery to select an already saved picture or video on your device before sending.
- For iPhone users, tap on Photo & Video Library to select an already saved media. Note, on WhatsApp, videos recorded on WhatsApp cannot exceed 16 Mb.
- After taking a picture, or making a video, or selecting a media for your device’s storage, tap on 1 (the small circle with figure 1 written within).
- Finally, tap on Send.
Once you follow the steps outlined above in the same manner, you won’t have issues learning how to use the WhatsApp view once feature.