How to block contacts on Tinder

By | July 7, 2021
How to block contacts on Tinder

Tinder has greatly improved online dating since its inception in 2012. Now instead of browsing through profiles for hours and searching out potential dates, you can simply “swipe right” on the people you like, and “swipe left” on those you don’t. Over the past few years, Tinder has gathered a lot of popularity in the online space, which has inspired today’s guide “How to block contacts on Tinder”.

You can meet nice and respectful people on this dating app while trying to find your genuine match, but sometimes you can run into some people you’d rather not connect with. If you somehow come into contact with someone you no longer want to be connected to, you can block them. Don’t know how to do this? Don’t fret, in today’s guide, I’ll be instructing you on how to block contacts on Tinder.

Read More: How To Hide or Change Location on Tinder

What is the Block Contacts feature on Tinder?

The company has recently rolled out an awesome new feature on its dating platform that can save users from some offensive and embarrassing moments. This new feature will enable Tinder users to block contacts on the dating site using their phone contacts.

In a survey, carried out by the company it was found that 40% of users come across their ex-lover, 24% of users have seen a family member, colleague, and even their professor’s profile on a dating app. And in that survey, 78% of Tinder users said that they would prefer not to see or be seen by these connections on the app.

Tinder has provided a solution to this problem with the Block Contacts feature on its platform. As the name implies, this feature enables Tinder users to block contacts (friends, exes, family members, or colleagues) whom they don’t want to see in their profiles from popping up in their profiles. It also ensures that these people don’t see their profiles. This feature gives Tinder users more control over their dating experience.

What Does It Mean to Block Someone on Tinder?

When you block someone on Tinder, that person can no longer see your profile, nor can you see theirs. Tinder prevents both of you from coming across each other’s profiles in the app.

This way Tinder prevents certain people (like your ex, relatives, or colleagues) from finding you on this dating app. Tinder does not notify a user when you block them.

How to Block Contacts on Tinder

Blocking contacts on Tinder is possible and can be done through two different methods. The two methods available to block contacts on Tinder are:

  • By loading the person’s contact details from your phone’s address book
  • By manually entering the person’s contact information.
Best Pick:  3 GIPHY Alternatives for Sharing GIFs after Facebook acquisition

I’ll this guide, I’ll be guided through how to block contacts on Tinder via these methods. Continue reading to learn how to block contacts on Tinder via any of the above-listed methods.

How to Block Contacts on Tinder (By Using the Address Book Method)

To be able to block contacts on Tinder via this method, you’d be required to share your contact list with Tinder. Performing this step is easy, all you have to do would be to share the contact list from your device to Tinder, and pick the contacts you want to block, when you leave the feature, only the information of the people you have blocked will remain. Here’s how to use this feature:

  • Open your Tinder app and tap the profile icon
  • Go to “Settings
  • Scroll down and select “Block Contacts
  • Grant Tinder authorization to access your contacts
  • Under the “Contacts” tab, select people you want to block from your contact list
  • Tap “Block Contacts“.

Next, I’ll be teaching how to block contacts on Tinder via the second method (by manually entering the person’s contact information).

How to Block Contacts on Tinder (By Using the Contact Information Method)

If you do not want to load your entire contacts list in Tinder, you can manually enter a person’s contact information to block them in your Tinder account. With this, you can also block someone who isn’t saved in your contact list.

  • Open your Tinder app and tap the profile icon
  • Go to “Settings
  • Scroll down and select “Block Contacts
  • Tap the “+” icon at the top of the screen
  • Input the person’s contact info and tap “Done

Important Things to Note About Blocking Contacts on Tinder

  1. Blocked contacts will not be notified that you blocked them
  2. Blocking a contact doesn’t mean they have a Tinder account
  3. Blocking contacts will not affect your existing matches or messages
  4. If the contact information you use to block someone on Tinder doesn’t match the info they used to sign up, then you might still end up seeing each profile on Tinder
  5. You can stop sharing your contacts with the Block Contacts feature from your Tinder settings
  6. If you do not wish to grant Tinder access to your contacts, you can use the manual loading contact option to block contacts on Tinder.

Category: How-Tos

About Elias

Elias is the Pioneer Editor @ Phonereporters.com. He is in for all forms of mobile-related reports. The one you can trust

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *