Categories

Phonereporters

Mobile Phones Specifications, Prices, Photos, Reviews, News, and Many more

The Read Receipt feature is common among many messaging apps including Signal. The feature enables users to know whether their messages have been read by the recipient, as well as the time it was accessed.

On the back of a deluge of requests by its users, private messaging app Signal introduced the read receipts feature in 2020 to its mobile apps. However, some users are not comfortable with this aspect of their privacy being exposed, as they don’t like the idea of someone else knowing when they read messages sent to them. Interestingly, you can turn off read receipts in Signal, if you intend to maintain an extra layer of your privacy.

How do I Turn Off Read Receipts in Signal?

Read receipts are notifications that inform the sender when his message is read. The notification could be through an icon or text next to their message to show that the recipient had seen the message. It is possible to turn off read receipts in Signal, so that no sender will ever get any notification that you have seen his messages. Below, we outline the steps you can take to turn off read receipts in Signal mobile app.

  • First, launch the Signal app on your device
  • Then head to the settings menu by selecting the gear icon in the upper-left corner of your screen (for iOS devices) or the three dots in the upper-right corner (for Android devices).

  • Click on the settings, and then choose “Privacy” and pick the “Read receipts” option on the list.

turn off Read Receipts in Signal

  • Go ahead to select this option which will then disable the toggle.

turn off Read Receipts in Signal

  • The next step to turn off read receipts in Signal is to verify that the action to turn off Read Receipts in Signal has been successful and that the Read Receipts option is no more available.
Best Pick:  How To Block Someone In Discord

With the conversation page open, send a message to any recipient. If the action to turn off read receipts in Signal was successful, then you will only get a notification that the message was successfully received by Signal’s servers and successfully delivered to the recipient.

The notification from an Android device is slightly different from the notification you will get from an iOS device as confirmation that your action to turn off read receipts in Signal was accomplished or not.

On an Android device, two gray checkmarks will be visible in the same location where the read receipts would be (previously blue). The first check means the message was received by the Signal server, and the second symbolizes that the message was delivered to the user.

For an iOS platform, if the turn off read receipts in Signal was properly done, then either “Sent” or “Delivered” will appear at the same point where the read receipts notification would have been (previously a message that said “Read”). You will see the words “Sent”, which means that Signal’s server received your message, and “Delivered”, which means that the message was successfully sent to the user. Otherwise, you have not been able to successfully turn off read receipts in Signal and may need to follow the first step more carefully to properly activate turn off read receipts in Signal.

With read receipts feature disabled, an additional layer of privacy has returned to the sender. Although the flipside of activating the turn off read receipts in Signal is that users can deny receiving messages even when they had viewed such.